The Wedding March

By: Byron Flitsch

Gay-Marriage1

Every single time I think about my impending wedding day, I get cold feet.

Oh, not the kind of cold feet that makes some people flip their brains all “Runaway Bride” style. (PSH! I’m one of those gay guys born with like, two bazillion wedding genes…)

I keep getting cold feet when it comes to the ability to tell people to shove off.

What I mean is, NO… that’s exactly what I mean. I don’t have the innate ability to tell people that if they don’t understand the love I have with my partner, then they don’t have to be apart of our big event… or any other part of our life. Even after the momentous end of DOMA, we’ve still had to suffer painful prejudices…from the ones we love.

Long story short, my boyfriend of five years and I are getting married—You know, as married as two men can be. Many family and friends have been beyond supportive with us in regards of the occasion, yet there have been a some incredibly important people in our lives that have been bringing us down with their beliefs. Here’s the break down of types of scenarios we’ve had to deal with those aforementioned important people:

• The “We won’t call it a “wedding” because it’s not in our socially acceptable vernacular” people. This sounds like this: “Well, we’ll be more than happy to come, but we can’t come if it’s called a wedding…” Or it sounds like this: “I just can’t call it a ‘wedding’ — its’ a party! Let’s just call it a ‘party,’ is that all right? Good. Now I feel better about it.”
• The “Why are you doing this in the first place? It’s creeping us out judging by the subtle looks and lack of communication about the topic” people. (Clearly, these people have never seen an episode of “Glee” or “New Normal” or, my God, read the news that THINGS ARE HAPPENING ON THIS PLANET THAT GOES BEYOND their front step.) That discussion sounds like this: … Actually, it sounds like nothing. It’s usually passive-aggressive silence about the topic.

• Finally, there’s “We want to make you feel guilty about our personal religious reasons”.  Their personal reasons we can’t attend by crying our confused and ignorant tears” people. This sounds like this: “We want to come but we can’t because we’re not allowed to believe in it…SOB SOB SOB…It’s been eating us alive…SOB SOB SOB…we feel so heart broken and confused, and it’s so hard. SOBBBBBB!”

Psychologist Carl Rogers believed that humans had one basic motive in their lives and it was to be the most human he or she can be, however we must be self actualized before succeeding. Lately, I can’t think of a better way to become more self-actualize than screaming at all these “loved ones.” I just want to get on this gigantic bullhorn so I can scream:

“IF YOU DON’T LIKE WHAT WE ARE DOING, THEN DON’T BE A PART OF IT. ALSO, YOU SHOULD PROBABLY REEVALUATE OUR FRIENDSHIP/RELATIONSHIP WITH US. THANKS AND BYE!

Mainly I just want to “X” them off our invite list and pretend they never existed in out lives. Because, here’s the deal: I act as if I’m OK with the whole “haters gonna hate” mantra, but then it hits me. It’s a feeling that equates to the same feeling you get when you slice your finger on something sharp, and right before the blood reaches the surface, the pain is almost distant and there’s a sudden numbness. But, then, the blood suddenly arrives and its an instantaneously obvious reminder that your hurt yourself and you feel it all over again. And it hurts. Like. Hell.

Yet, we know this whole situation isn’t a lost cause. So, instead of sitting around waiting people to come around, I remind myself that this is a time celebrate! This is why we’re doing this! Not for the haters! For us! ” It’s become a kind of mantra, I keep repeating to my self: “It’s a celebration. It’s a celebration. It’s a celebration.”

But how do you celebrate the joys in love when your heart aches?

Instead of seething, I have been trying to read everything about how other people’s life struggles. First, can we talk about how there are many angry people in the world (like, A LOT). However, many wise people have lived their lives, aren’t angry, and have instead have used their own lessons to blow the minds of the lost people of today. Cheryl Strayed, she’s one of those wise people and I was re-reading one of her essays (By the way, get on anything by Cheryl. Trust.) where she says: “You will learn a lot about yourself if you stretch in the direction of goodness, of bigness, of kindness, of forgiveness, of emotional bravery. Be a warrior for love.”

Huh.

“A warrior of love”—let’s all just picture that for sec. Just take a moment to imagine what that would be like to have real troupes of warriors of love. But instead of envisioning warriors as buff men and women bombarding people with aggressively hugging people under the threat of pointy sticks—imagine these warriors being, well, you (Extra credit if you’re also buff!): Someone that goes in to the world with the intention to not make others feel like they are doing something wrong when it is making them beyond happy. Imagine that your weapon, instead of dangerous fist or aggressive judgments, they are words of encouragement for others that you may not understand, but you know that it’s not your job to understand.

It could go like this! We’d march together in rows and rows and rows as far as the eye can see while someone leads with a sort of army-like cadence. They say: “I don’t know what I’ve been told!”

And we’d all repeat back: “I don’t know what I’ve been told!”

“But life’s too short to be so cold!”

And we’d all repeat back “But life’s too short to be so cold!”

“So here I am with arms so wide!”

And we’d all repeat back: “So here I am with arms so wide!”

“So let’s end this hate and stand side-by-side!”

And we’d all repeat back: “So let’s end this hate and stand side-by-side!”

Then, we’d invade the cruelest corners of world and the harshest moments of hate and ignorance with our brashness of hugs, high fives, handshakes, and smiles! You’re a warrior of love, and your only mission is to share that feeling. CHARRRRGE!

That’s what it feels like, what soon-to-be-tied-by-the-knot-partner and I are slowly becoming professionals of—being actual Warriors of Love. Through our many years of hardships of carrying the heavy weight of guilt for being “different,” we’ve finally become strong enough to punch through the brick walls of ignorance surrounding the hearts of certain people in our lives with the only way we know how: to share the love we have for each other, onwards and outwards. Why add more hate in to the world when you have been trained for years otherwise?

Those people who have made us feel like we’re doing something wrong, strange, or weird by getting married, we still invited them to attend. They can make their final decisions because it’s not going to be our choice to leave them out of our love. And those people that have said some hurtful things to us in expressing their religious or moralistic beliefs, they’re still invited. It’s not a Warrior of Love’s mantra to let ignorance win a battle, at least not without a fair fight.

So we’re going to march with this warrior-like stance in to the days of our wedding, and what our future brings to us in our man-and-man matrimony in hopes that everyone can find the true happiness we have found in our lives even if some don’t believe it truly exists.

Heck, I’m not saying it’s going to work, and I’m not saying it’s easy (Can I get an AMEN!?). Has it been easy even getting as far as being able to talk about gay marriage? I’m just hoping that this can be us doing our part to warm the hearts of those that are have been left out in the cold in regards to the truth about real love.

31 responses to “The Wedding March

  1. Whoever you choose just make sure that Internet phone system service providers in the market or
    you can also phone system outage make use of information hotlines to provide
    callers with the details they need instantly. Choose
    the right system and harness the capabilities of PBX
    phone systems. So have a digitalized experience to unburden your load.

  2. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check
    again here frequently. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

  3. You can view the latest weather updates by just taking a look
    at your phone’s home screen, where it automatically posts weather
    info, and all sorts of without having to
    launch the application. Instant availability is precisely what is triggering
    ebook piracy too. Now, movies aren’t the thing that piracy
    trackers allow links too.

  4. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth was a entertainment account it.
    Glance complex to more added agreeable from you! However,
    how can we keep in touch?

  5. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely
    helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist different customers like its helped me.
    Good job.

  6. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot.
    I was seeking this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  7. clash of clans diamond apparatus – This could be the ideal spot where you’ll be able to
    discover a suitable and powerful Clash of Clans hack apparatus.
    Like, in the event you watched– when I was in Singapore watching” Star – Craft” on TV, it
    turned out like, you are able to keep working on a game forever.
    For this it is advisable to concentrate your relationship and look after in any circumstances.

  8. Pretty element of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I fulfillment you get entry
    to constantly rapidly.

  9. If you want to know the crystal clear details it is better to view just about any online store web sites explaining the actual product or service information using elements.
    Adiphene is the newest and fastest weight reduction supplement in market.
    With more time now passed, those rates would be even higher as obesity is still on the rise.

  10. I believe this is among the such a lot important info for me.
    And i’m happy studying your article. However want to statement on some common issues, The web site
    style is ideal, the articles is in reality great
    : D. Just right activity, cheers

  11. 55mm headset jack located in the bottom that gets rid of headset
    wires from covering the display. It is better since the apple i – Phone
    4 is newly launched and not much of this device is know so i would suggest you to get it
    repaired by apple only moreover as your device is stil in the warranty period and hence you don’t
    need to get repaired. Different types of light have different colors, so if you are shooting
    in incandescent light, your final photo may have an orange hue, while fluorescent light will impart a greenish tint.

  12. Logic & Thinking skills: Flow, Scribblenauts, 4 Pics 1 Word.
    Maybe this is why Animoca is positioned for the
    marketplace. Hill Climb Racing You play
    as a driver with long hair, a red hat and a stubble
    beard.

  13. Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to claim that
    I acquire actually loved account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your augment and even I fulfillment you get entry to persistently rapidly.

  14. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my website!I
    suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  15. I think what you published was very logical. But, consider this, suppose you composed a catchier
    title? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you
    added a post title that makes people want more? I mean The Wedding March | In Our Words is a little plain. You ought to
    glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news
    titles to grab viewers interested. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to
    grab people excited about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it might bring your
    website a little livelier.

  16. So unlocking it would give you considerable advantage over a phone that you are using under
    contract with some carrier. The unlocked version is the same as those that have
    already hit the market, but they do not come with an SIM card.
    This will appeal to young adults in their early 20’s and even teenagers who
    often beg for an i – Phone as their birthday gift.

  17. Search engine optimization (SEO) is a method designed
    to improve the flow of organic visitors to a website by achieving a higher ranking within search engine result pages (SERPs).
    Make sure that the grammar and spelling on your pages are correct.

    Perhaps it’s better not be using these social networks, they say
    they keep people connected, but only in a virtual world, it probably prevents a lot
    of people from going outside and really connecting.

  18. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate
    if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  19. First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask
    if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and
    clear your mind before writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Thanks!

  20. But there relationship can not be assure as a life partner, or is he just busy?
    If you thoughtfully set your profile up to date information as you can tell from the chart the CPC’s can run as high as $1.
    What eharmony promotional code do you make a good match.

  21. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience
    with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

  22. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. I appreciate you for
    sharing!

Leave a Reply

