Ask Jenn Vicious: Nail Your Dreads To The Wall & Anarchist Marching Bands

image
Jenn Vicious is the radical community’s Agony Aunt, providing life coaching and social etiquette answers for radical cultures.  Need poly, kinky, or queer dating advice, need to to know what to wear to court or a family function (you know, one you have to look “respectable” at),  want to understand what to and not to say in some contexts, ask Jenn Vicious.

HEY BRAH, WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH MY DREADLOCKS NOW THAT I’VE CUT THEM OFF? – ANONYMOUS

Take them with you to Austin or Minneapolis or Portland or Nashville or whatever hip town you move to so you can get an office job and nail them to the wall of your new cubicle to remind you of your carefree days spent traveling through India or occupying campus buildings or whatever else it is that you did when you were young, wild, and free.

I RECENTLY JOINED AN ANARCHIST MARCHING BAND. BEFORE THIS, I HADN’T REALLY GIVEN MUCH THOUGHT TO ANARCHY AS PRACTICAL POLITICAL MOVEMENT, BUT MY NEW FRIENDS ARE REALLY PASSIONATE AND NOW I’M CURIOUS AND CAUTIOUSLY SUPPORTIVE. I HAVE ACCESS TO AN ANARCHIST LENDING LIBRARY BUT THERE’S SO MUCH TO READ THAT I DON’T KNOW WHERE TO START! I’D LIKE TO BE ABLE TO DEFEND MY POLITICAL POSITION ARTICULATELY AROUND THE DINNER TABLE THIS CHRISTMAS AND RIGHT NOW ALL I’VE GOT IS :”CAPITALISM IS BAD, MMMKAY?” -PARANOIDANDCROCHETY

There’s a lot out there to read, and different things are going to speak to different people. I’m giving you some ideas of where to start, but definitely follow whatever is interesting to you. These are zines that I recommend to people often. I don’t know what you’ve got available at your lending library, but a lot of these are available online (and you can always donate them to your @library when you’re done!)

Here’s a list of zines and books that I would start with:

(Full disclosure: I am a part of an anarchist distro collective, and I am about to engage in some shameless self-promotion of that project.)

One response to “Ask Jenn Vicious: Nail Your Dreads To The Wall & Anarchist Marching Bands

  1. Social media marketing tools includes using websites like Facebook, Twitter, Linked – In and You – Tube
    to promote your invention. Submitting a video clip on your own
    will not likely guarantee revenue. Provides you with the most convenient task management along
    with the easiest control capability.

Leave a Reply

