Boyfriend Land: An Introduction

by: Adam Guerino 

road-sign-1024x853

Boyfriend Land is a new relationship series brought to you by the dude who created the dating serial Serial Dater. Me. While Serial Dater was inspired by a year-long sabbatical from dating, (for personal growth as well as from popular demand,) Boyfriend Land is inspired by a relationship. A relationship that happens at the end of Serial Dater. So, in a way, Boyfriend Land is the second part to Serial Dater. Or maybe Serial Dater is the prequel to Boyfriend Land?

ANYWAY. Whereas Serial Dater was a social experiment–what would happen if a dating addict went cold turkey?–Boyfriend Land is a documentation of a journey; a working travel guide. To where? A place that I haven’t been in a long while; a place that, while visiting before, the trip didn’t end so well. I hope either you can relate because you’re in a relationship, have been in one before or are intrigued by the idea. Like science fiction.

Just do me a favor and don’t tell my boyfriend I’m writing about him. Just kidding, he has given me his blessing to write about our relationship (hi honey!) For the purposes of this series, let’s just call him… Seth. Because, well, that’s his name. Unless he starts to disapprove of what I say in which case his name will still be Seth but I may no longer reside in Boyfriend Land.

But don’t misunderstand my intent, this isn’t about what it’s like to date Seth, it’s being in a relationship. Specifically what it’s like to be in a monogamous gay male relationship after being a serial dater then not dating for a long time. Mostly from my perspective, sure, but also from others in sections I like to call Town Hall meetings where one or many other voices can be heard about a subject regarding the goings-on in Boyfriend Land.

I’ve been in Boyfriend Land for several months already and have plenty to report. In the near future, look forward to hearing about meeting each others’ parents, definition of the term “boyfriend-weight” and all starting with the first installment “Itinerary.” In short, “Itinerary” is about two single boys who decide to be boyfriends and negotiate the terms of exclusivity. In the car. On a 13 hour road-trip.

Intrigued?

 

One response to “Boyfriend Land: An Introduction

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

