I Made You This Mix: When Facing an End

by: In Our Words Staff

the-chiffons-hes-so-fine-philips

This is I Made You This Mix, an occasional feature of In Our Words, where we, you guessed it, make mixes for the world.  So much of our lives and experiences are tinged, covered, colored, and rollicked by music.  You can just be hunting for new music, looking for your old favorites, or in of need music for the right moment (ie: breaking up, studying, making whoopie, etc), this column is for you.  The first few will be made by Patrick.  If you have a playlist you would like to put together, drop us a line at inourwordsblog@gmail.com.

For this first installment, with the end of this year coming, I (Patrick) felt it would be nice to acknowledge the things ending.

I chose songs that have a clear vision of an ending, but I was also careful to find some that have an underlying sense of hope, of making it through an end, of survival no matter how embattled.  I think it’s important to greet something final, to hear it and know it is there, but I just can’t stop believing we can survive it; we made it this far already.


Atlantic City- Bruce Springsteen

Let’s start it out right people.  This is the shaker of souls, the gruff man of heart and soul talking about the changes he sees going on in his home. Does this make you tear up a little, it’s okay, because I am convinced that the original paper this song was written on is stained with the bosses tears, and it is as valuable as the Declaration of Independence

The Chiffons- One Fine Day

Sometimes the end means the end of love, and it means you have to dance it out and tell them how you’re really feel.  How amazing you are, how worthy of love you are, and yeah your language might be problematic because you are still conflating self-worth with someone else’s presence, but fuck it this is what’s in your heart.  Today is the end or at least close to it, but you know, you    .   This is hip swinging catharsis, this is survival of the reckoning.

I Eat Dinner- Kate and Anna McGarrigle

Want to hear what utter sadness sounds wrapped in a warm blanket of commiseration, possibly with a cup of hope tea?  Here it is.  Sung by not only Rufus Wainright’s mother, Kate (his aunt the other McGarrigle, of course), BUT WHOM I NOW REFER TO AS THE LATE QUEEN OF BEAUTIFUL LAMENT.  Caps required.

I’ll Be Seeing You- Billie Holiday

In high school, I often rounded out my metal listening with Billie Holiday.  It makes sense for any burgenoning sensative queen right?  Ok.  So imagin watching the ocean take more and more of the beach, as you drive down the coast, listening to this on cassette.  It’s nice right?

I’m Coming Home- Diddy Dirty Money

You shut your mouth if it is agape at reading this.  This song is probably the most heartfelt thing Sean Combs has done in his life and it’s a great song.  And you know if some cute girl in a floral print jumper played a banjo and sang this,  while accompanied by a dude in a beanie and a vest on a tiny harpsichord who harmonizes with her only on the choruses, this would be your favorite song ever and it would make you weep with its earnestness.

Journey to the End of the East Bay- Rancid

When I think about a growing distance between a group of good friends, this song clicks on in my head, and there is an intense sadness that comes over me, but really what pulses under that is the hope that a new thing can begin and that maybe something can be salvaged.  If you read the lyrics it becomes fairly apparent that this is about Operation Ivy’s rise and fall, but from Op Ivy we get Rancid.  There usually is too much power left in people for something to die out completely, even after a group dissolves.

Jack Knife To a Swan- The Mighty Mighty Bosstones

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones are underappreciated, I really can’t think of anything else to say besides that.  I mean, this is coming from a guy who doesn’t understand how any person can hate 2 Tone Ska (it’s just… wrong to), but this song brings some gravitas to their catalog

This Year- The Mountain Goats

Just listen to it.  Then pause for weeping.  Then resume the playlist.

In The Orchard- Tiger Army

Tiger Army have this great ability to go from horror camp dark to introspectively dark.  It’s a reason I will always appreciate their music.

End of the Line- Sleigh Bells

End of the Line, for how mellow it is, is  a bit of a battle song for me; when I actually saw the video, this week, I actually jumped up and screamed that that was what this needed to be; riding bikes somewhere, just somewhere, and anyone who sees you might not know the reason, but you got one, dammit.

Its a bit obvious, it could be replaced with the similar and no less superb, Rill Rill, but End of the Line was seemed to be the unsung hero of their latest record, Reign of Terror.  It gives a bit space to vocalist  Alexis Krauss to, which is always interesting to hear how haunting and sweet she can make such heavy guitars.

Landslide- Stevie Nicks

Sometimes right on the nose is exactly where you want to be, right on the sentimental shawl wearing nose.

 The Man Who Sold The World- David Bowie 

See Above answer, add more glitter.

Yonkers- Tyler, The Creator 

Terror.  Pure, terror.  And amazement.  This song, the first few times I listened to it, because they were in rapid succession, I could not leave my seat.  I was caught up in the oil-thick  pitch and bass,  I just loved it and feared how dark this man could go.

Wake The Dead- Comeback Kid

This is what I meant by hope, really, this whole song.  It was how I looked back at many of my high school year, how I got through a lot of physical and emotional pain.  It just ran, forward, knowing there was an end in sight, but defiant of it.

Also if you want to see what dudes from my local hardcore scene looked like, they made this video.  They really liked zombies, and moshing.  But don’t we all.

59 responses to “I Made You This Mix: When Facing an End

  1. You are so awesome! I do not think I have read anything like this before.
    So wonderful to find somebody with a few unique thoughts on this issue.

    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is
    one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  2. You can apply a thin layer of the oil as you go
    about your day. Make sure to call your skin doctor or dermatologist when you have any open cuts or sores from scratching that won’t heal. For an easy fiber boost, mix in 2 tablespoons of ground up flaxseeds in raw applesauce, from 2-3 apples, made in your food processor.

  3. If you have cracked heels, take the peel and rub the inside
    on and around the cracks. The oil is chock full of nutrients which help overall health,
    in addition to that of the hair. Unlike some treatment products, almond oil (being completely
    natural), can be used as frequently as you wish.

  4. I thought I one day would buy items containing “sustainable palm oil. In Borneo and Sumatra, consequences of deforestation are dramatically impacting the local biodiversity and orangutans are one of the many victims. There are plenty of chemically derived sources of lauric acid, but for a natural soap, this seed oil is key.

  5. If you could give us any more maria skin whitening comments on the 2007 transition?
    His feet were long and thin like the rest. My Indian friends
    politely locked me in my garden. I compensate or accommodate my daily
    tasks, some as simply as walking down the road.

  6. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  7. I was excited to find this website. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!
    ! I definitely really liked every part of it and i also
    have you saved as a favorite to check out new things in your website.

  8. I have been browsing on-line more than three hours
    these days, but I never discovered any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all
    webmasters and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did,
    the internet will be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  9. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always useful to read articles from other authors and practice a little something from other web sites.

  10. Last week I was seeing an acupunturist. Stronger bones s e w t exercise
    as elderly men may suffer fr m var u hormone hgh deficiency deficiencies ar somet mes treated w th HGH injections.
    Personal strengths–> You have honesty and authenticity above all else.
    I don’t have eczema around my eyes anymore, my digestion is greatly improved if it is just that Spencer is special. Injection HGH treatment as soon as you get older and natural hgh deficiency.

  11. I blog often and I seriously thank you for your information.

    Your article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will book mark your site and keep checking for
    new information about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  12. I blog frequently and I really appreciate your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest.

    I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  13. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?

    My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  14. Cook until they begin to brown and give up their lives easily.
    The idea and practice of having negative thought patterns kicked
    into gear for you quite early in your development.
    If you are interested in what it can do for you! But my secular self
    needs to pay her by weekly check so that she can score a deal
    with H. The original comment in this thread. The company’s technology uses virus-like particles VLP and recombinant protein micelle vaccines.

  15. Remarkable things here. I’m very glad to see your post. Thanks a lot and I am looking ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  16. 8, 2006, from his home in Ontario. Christian Prevention magazine’s beauty director Jennifer Goldstein stopped by” grey hair cloak The Today Show” to discuss how to recreate it and where to buy the product. Using a weekly home remedy to prevent clogs is to pour the water safely without scalding yourself.

  17. Even the advertising industry is so cluttered nowadays that you have to find the most effective way to get noticed or to get your message strongly across.
    This is a quick in and out deal for you as you do not have
    to wait for mortgage processing or wait for repairs. Tell the inhabitant as a normal obligingness before you enter the property
    for upkeep, repairs, or investigations.

  18. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just
    wanted to say fantastic blog!

  19. It’s emergency survival tool card that is made of
    high quality stainless steel and easy to carry, practicable.
    This knife has many purposes you’ll be able to use on special camping trips or
    on a daily schedule. James dismissed the criticisms of those who detest
    predetermined responses,.

  20. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually know what
    you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my website =).
    We may have a link change arrangement among us

  21. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?

    Excellent work!

  22. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think
    about worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  23. Howdy outstanding blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a large amount of work?

    I have very little expertise in programming however I was
    hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply wanted to ask.

    Kudos!

  24. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  25. You actually make it seem really easy along with your
    presentation but I find this topic to be really
    something that I think I might never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely large
    for me. I’m having a look ahead on your next put up, I
    will attempt to get the hold of it!

  26. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog.

    You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  27. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team
    of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  28. The jaws of life had to come extricate her, and when they get her out – she’s hysterical –
    laughing, standing there with her orange robe and bald head.
    if you want to impress others, it is wits that works well online.
    Act with Dignity and Self-respect for Your Business.

  29. Seoo is the helpful techniquye to use this for publicity of
    business your online business inn the online world.
    Relative to this,the cost you have to incur on the SEO services is considerably less, hence.
    Therefore include meta tags but also make your content informative and engaging.

  30. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web
    address and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

  31. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  32. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on.
    All the best

  33. Concrete jobs may seem like they unlicensed contractors anticipated.
    There are other alarms, such as best painters do.
    Finding a good contractor should bring these to your local hardware or home alarm may not want
    to ask questions. So you’ve decided that I started making The Big Bucks!
    We are simply unlicensed contractors as economical.

  34. is updated frequently with free advice about Google Ad – Words strategy, tactics, tips
    tricks and techniques for success in Ad – Words advertising.
    This will allow you to answer only those calls that come
    in on your forwarded toll free number and route other calls to different locations.
    Besides placing advertisers ads on your Blog,
    you can also make money Blogging by placing Google Adsense into your Blog.

  35. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade content from you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal site
    now 😉

  36. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I get three emails with the same
    comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

  37. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog audience have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  38. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized
    it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  39. The Chosin Few, survivors with the Chosin Reservoir, get their own web
    page at Chosin – Reservoir. The watch for Company of Heroes 2 is going to a detailed, as the open beta begins later today on June 4th, 2013.

    True success just isn’t measured inside the wealth you have accumulated in your bank
    account. The esteemed Druids were the learned elite – the authority on almost everything including medicine.
    Age of Empires Ancient Conquest: The Golden Fleece.
    They also lose value if the characters represented are no longer popular, or if your comics aren’t old enough.
    Starfleet Command II: Empires at War SWAT 4: The Stetchkov Syndicate.
    You don’t have to get in Russia, or to be Russian to do this.
    As you might expect, PC strategy games cover a great deal of areas and time periods, meaning players can immerse themselves in anything from accumulating the Holy Roman Empire to destroying
    planets in a far-flung, futuristic galaxy.
    Once you research some goods to sell inside it
    your heroes will buy things in the market plus your taxmen will collect big bags of
    gold as taxes. All you should know certainly are a few
    minimal information about the person that can help in finding them.
    If it’s a party, these need somewhat little bit of thought.
    Hawaii Five-O fans hopefully is able to keep themselves pleased with their
    DVD sets and saved DVR gems for one more week, as pressing national matters necessarily
    have pushed the hit drama while using quirkiest and
    hottest team of crime-fighting heroes with
    a second week without airing a new episode. Once constructed these posts sends carts in your market periodically and you may
    reap the huge benefits in greater taxes.
    n has brought part within the film 45 and has had the privilege of dealing with
    prestigious musicians from different genres, for example Angel
    “cachet” Maldonado and Gilberto Santa Rosa.
    Also, some service list Japanese VPN servers by city,
    while others list all under one heading, “Japan”. for your covers or
    the brochures consider adding a little protection and select from glossy or matte.

    The Marvel Select action figure portrays Iron Man in their
    Extremis armor from the popular comic story, removing to battle evil.

    Two of these fine soldiers (SFC Ross and SFC Plato will be killed in the future combat actions).
    Along just how, Troy and Ashlea picked out a few from the gentler rides like
    Barney Oldfield’s Speedway, the Flying Eagles and also the Celebration Swings.
    The engineers could also build the structures required to the manufacturing of tanks
    and artillery pieces. 14 unique missions are
    playable, that allows to have an estimated 12-15 hours of gameplay, depending on how proficient the player is.
    This item produces an incredible prize or employee award so be sure to add this for your promotional gifts next
    year. And I’ve got 20 mins to somehow arrange things in order that you’ll be able to make positive changes to own mind.

    Fortunately, the history and wonder of Celtic culture are actually preserved in customs and legends, art, music, literature,
    and antiquities for many to explore.

  40. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.

    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue
    your great writing, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

