Poetry: I Kiss the Same Mouths That Your Teeth Are After

by: Elaine Body

I kiss the same mouths that your teeth are after

But we are not running after the same animal

I am not trying to come between you

And your erection

But do not try to share your abundance of joy with me

I am happy enough

 

I am not trying to prove something because I refuse to kiss you

I have kissed boys before

Hot and wanting—

Waiting for something they are not prepared for

Something I’ll never be ready to give

 

I know you are looking at me with questions

Hanging on your lips in place of a cigarette

Maybe it is because we look similar in front of the mirror

But clothes do not tell the world what a soul looks like

And yours may be the furthest from mine

 

Let me kill the myth that I know everything there is to know

About women

Just because I am a lesbian

I do not know any more than you

Yes captain obvious we share the same parts

But those are just the free spaces, the given

Those are not the answers to the questions

Under her bed

The ones she is not ready stir out of a forgetful slumber

 

You may never know the answers

 

You will be tattooed by lipstick on your mouth

So many times your taste buds will know the difference

Between fire red and spring pink

But you may never understand the reason why

Her fingers shake every time she walks by that spot

We all have skeletons in our closets

And there is no holiday for backbones hidden in the dark

 

I kiss the same mouths that your teeth are after

But we are not running after the same animal

I am not running

 

 

Leave a Reply

