Lena Dunham’s “Girls” Premieres on Sunday: I’m So Excited and I Just Can’t Hide It

by: Erica Feliciano

HBO’s new series Girls is already my new favorite television show, and I’ve yet to see a full episode. The first episode of the new series begins on Sunday, April 15th. But, I don’t need to see a full episode to know that this show is going to be unlike any before it. How do I know this? Two words: Lena Dunham.

For those of you fortunate enough to have seen Dunham’s film Tiny Furniture, and her other works, know that she isn’t your ordinary writer/director/actor. Yes, the 25 year old does write, direct and act in all of her projects. Not many people can put all of that on their resume and, actually, be good at it. She isn’t afraid to write dialogues that people tend to think yet are too afraid to say, making her characters unorthodox but so very real.

If you’re like me, then you’re tired of the mundane shows that grace our television sets every week.  Don’t get me started on all the horrible reality shows that have taken over television stations, making the human race lose brain cells with each episode they watch. I’m tired of shows pertaining to vampires, lawyers, dead bodies, and doctors sleeping with each other. I don’t know about you, but I’ve never had a hot vampire knock on my door wanting to have my babies. These days I’m looking for something a bit more relatable. This is why I’m so excited for Girls. It has none of the above.

Lena Dunham plays Hannah, a character who has just graduated college, and whose parents have cut off her financial support. She is a writer, fresh out of college, living in New York with no money and no job. I can already relate. It seems to be the theme, not just for writers, but for college graduates in general in this day and age. Hannah is joined by three other girlfriends: Marnie, Hannah’s roommate, struggling with her relationship to a way too nice guy; Jessa, a free spirit, dealing with her unexpected pregnancy; and then there’s Jessa’s cousin who is a virgin obsessed with Sex and the City.

When I watch the trailer and clips of the series, one thing that comes to mind is a younger but more intelligent version of Sex and the City. Sex and the City was a show about established woman living the glamorous life. Girls is the grittier, more realistic version. This is why Girls has become so wildly popular before it has even hit the airwaves. These girls are people I either want to be friends with, already have friends just like them, or see myself in them.

Recession, pro-choice, drugs, sex, and anything else that can come in the path of a woman in her twenties is a feature in this series. It’s real. Director/producer Judd Apatow was so impressed with Dunham’s previous work that he wanted to be a partner in making the series. You know it’s going to be a humorous show when Judd Apatow co-produces the series with Dunham. Both of their humor is no holds bar. So expect a good laugh with this 30-minute dramedy series.

Premium cable channels have been producing good quality shows.  I’m not worried at all that HBO will deliver something that will have its viewers wanting more. Anything goes with Girls, and I cannot wait.

Erica Feliciano grew up in Indiana knowing she’d be one of two things: 1. A lesbian 2. A writer. Lucky for her, she turned out to be both! After graduating from the University of Central Florida, with a degree in Creative Writing, she moved back to the Midwest. In Chicago she found a community, a home, and her amazing wife. Besides writing, Erica enjoys drinking too much at brunch on Sundays and shopping for watches. She hopes to, one day, write and produce good quality films and TV shows.

Leave a Reply

