A Source of Pride: An Open Letter For Carrie Brownstein

by: Jonah Lefholtz 

Dear Carrie,

We’re on a first-name basis, at this point in my life. I hope that’s okay with you; I wouldn’t want to offend.

The first time we met (or “met”), it was 1996; I was a 15 year old dyke, and my friend Keely, whom I knew from the internet, sent me a mixtape that contained a track from Sleater-Kinney’s self-titled record, the one that was released in 1995. Immediately upon hearing your voice, I knew we had something in common and that we would be friends forever. I grew up as a young queer with you and your bandmates. Of course, Corin and Janet are cool, too, but we have something special, you and me.

I made t-shirts with a black sharpie that said “Sleater-Kinney” on them. I became obsessed with riot grrrl. I actually carried around the fake ID card that came with the Third Sex’s “Card Carrying” album. You changed my life and gave me a voice. In my early twenties, my roommate and I had a picture of you that we cut out of a magazine on our wall. I really looked up to you.

One time, in 1998 or ’99, I made eye-contact with you at a show at Sokol Underground in Omaha, NE. You walked passed me and coolly (so coolly) looked me in the eye outside the venue. I’m sure I turned bright red, as I am wont to do. I had a “Chelsea” haircut and I was probably sporting very large jeans –trying to cover up what puberty did to me. I was 18. When you guys started playing, you said something along the lines of “Hello, Omaha” or whatever. I yelled from the crowd that Omaha sucked, and you said into the mic, “That’s not hometown pride!” I’ve always felt bad about that. Omaha doesn’t suck, but I was 18 and living with my oppressive family and already jaded. And a teenager, God, I am glad I never have to do that again.

Now, you’re on Portlandia, and I’m 31, less jaded, and I’ve been a guy for almost a decade now. You’re expression of hometown pride for Portland makes me want to move there. I probably won’t, so don’t worry about me stalking you or anything. I promise I’m not actually a creep. I just want to say thanks for continuing to be awesome. Thanks for keeping the spark alive in our friendship.

Sincerely,

Jonah M. Lefholtz

Jonah M. Lefholtz is a student and care-taker in Chicago, IL. He recently came out as a femme male and his life is better for it! He likes spending time with his family and friends, has two cats, and appreciates complexity.

Follow In Our Words on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

